Lone Peak 73, Miller Grove 71

Frank Jackson scored with three seconds left in the game to give Lone Peak a 72-70 win in the final game of the tournament.

It was a spectacular finish that was filled with drama. Lone Peak trailed by five points with 1:30 left in the game but used two free throws from Jackson and a key basket from Jackson Brinkerhoff to make up the deficit. Jackson finished with 38 points. Alterique Gilbert had 37 points for Miller Grove in what proved to be a marquee matchup of two of the top players in the county.

Lone Peak finished the tournament at 3-0 while Miller Grove was 2-1.

Foothill 79, Fremont 74

Mauricio Smith was one of five Foothill players to score in double figures. He led the Falcons with 17 points. Jeron Bodine had 15, T.J. Johnson and Marvin Coleman had 14 points each and Devon Erb added 13 points to help Foothill finish the tournament with a 1-2 record.

Fremont was led by Harvey Carter with 20 points and Dayshone Henry with 15. The Pathfinders finished their first appearance in the tournament with a 0-3 record.

Wasatch Academy 73, Timpview 60

Koby McEwen led Wasatch Academy with 30 points and seven rebounds and Shamiel Stevenson added 17. The Tigers trailed 28-25 at the half but outscored Timpview 19-11 in the third quarter.

Colson Santiago paced the T’Birds with 20 points. Gavin Baxter had 11 and Seth Santiago 10.

Wasatch Academy finished the tournament with a 2-1 record, Timpview was 1-2.

Timpanogos 57, Charlotte Christian 37

Timpanogos made its only game in the tournament a memorable one with memorable win over Charlotte Christian.  Timpanogos held the Knights to 13 points in the first half.

Justin Beus led the Timberwolves with 11, Seth Berlina and Tyler Walker each scored points. Rob Peterson led Charlotte Christian with 12 points.

Mountain View (AZ) 52, Orem 31

Tommy Kuhse led the Toros with 25 points to help the Toros finish the tournament with a 2-1 record.  They outscored Orem 20-4 in the second quarter to take charge of the game.

Ross Reeves was the only Orem player to score in double figures. He finished with 10 points. The Tigers finished the tournament with a 1-2 record.

Jackson wins the Slam Dunk Contest

Lone Peak’s Frank Jackson edged out Timpview’s Gavin Baxter to win the contest in what proved to be the most athletic and entertaining showdown in the history of the tournament. Jackson, who committed to play at Duke, had a perfect score on his final dunk to beat Baxter, who signed with BYU, by just four points.


Photo Credits: Monica Gustin

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.